committee functions

Finance Committee

Ten Year Plan and annual plan, annual report, rates, financial, general, tourism marketing, economic development, Castlecorp, civil defence, airport company, City Focus.

Community, Parks and Recreation Committee

Museum of Art and History, library, community, social policy monitoring, information and research, community assistance policies, Safer Community Council, sister city relationships, pensioner housing, parks and reserves, aquatic facilities, cemeteries, crematorium, event facilities and events.

Works Committee

Local roads, state highways, sustainable transport, footpaths, street lighting, vehicle crossings, road closures, road and traffic safety, land drainage, waste management, sewerage, water supplies.

Planning and Bylaws Committee

Planning, building, geothermal, health, control of dogs and wandering stock, parking, noise control, signage.

Te Arawa Standing Committee

Te Arawa Standing Committee was established in 1993 and is chaired by the mayor at the request of Te Arawa at the time the committee was established. As part of the Rotorua District Council's decision making process, Te Arawa Standing Committee has the responsibility to provide a Te Arawa perspective on all matters that affect Maori.

Executive Committee

Comprises mayor, deputy mayor, chairpersons of Finance Committee, Planning and Bylaws Committee, Works Committee, Community, Parks and Recreation Committee, and chief executive. Its work includes decisions on applications for remission and/or postponement of rates in cases of extreme hardship, negotiation of leases and emergency matters.

Audit Committee

Comprises the mayor, the chairperson and deputy chairperson of the Finance Committee and an outside appointee, Mr B. Lane. Its work includes internal/external audit matters. The committee meets as required.

Chief Executive's Performance Review Committee Is established in accordance with requirements of the Local Government Act 2002 to review the chief executive's performance.

This committee comprises:

- The mayor
- Deputy mayor
- Chairpersons of Finance, Works, and Planning and Bylaws Committees.

Statutory Hearings Subcommittee

Chaired by Cr Waaka along with five other councillors. It has approximately 12 meetings per year and deals with subdivision applications, resource consent conditions and applications, objections and the district plan.

Air Quality Joint Committee

A joint committee with members appointed from Environment BOP and Rotorua District Council. Councillors Kenny and Wepa are the appointed members from RDC with Councillors Hunt and Bentley the alternates. The objective of the committee is to consider options for sustainably managing air quality for Rotorua District.The committee held its inaugural meeting on 17 October 2008.

Rotorua Lakes Strategy Joint Committee

Rotorua District Council, Environment BOP, and Te Arawa Lakes Trust form this joint committee. Lakes water quality is an important issue for the district and the committee has been charged with ensuring that a proactive strategic approach is taken towards co-ordinating lakes water quality improvement. Mayor Winters and Councillor Searancke (Councillor Sturt-alternate) are Council's representatives.

Civil Defence Emergency Management Joint Committee

The six city and district councils in the Bay of Plenty region, together with the Bay of Plenty Regional Council, form this joint committee. The functions of the joint committee are to identify, assess and manage hazards and risks for the Bay of Plenty Region.

Other Committees

These are formed as subcommittees to deal with particular issues as required. They usually meet irregularly and are in existence for as long as required, sometimes being in a period of abeyance between active periods. The mayor is an ex-officio member of all committees.

