Creative Communities Scheme

​​​​​​​​​​​​Creative Communities Rotorua is a partnership between Creative New Zealand and Rotorua Lakes Council. The scheme's main focus is to stimulate and provide support to arts and culture projects which:

  • encourage community involvement;
  • support the diversity and cultural traditions of local communities, enriching and promoting their uniqueness and cultural diversity; or
  • enable and encourage young people (less than 18 yrs.) to engage with and actively participate in the arts.

The first funding round for 2020/2021 opens on 1 August 2020 and closes on 26 September 2020. The second round will open on 1 January 2021 and close on 6 March 2021.

For further information or assistance with completing applications, contact Julie Parsons, Creative Communities Lead via email at or phone 07 351 7823

Applications and Completion Reports:​

***NOTE for the word document:  If a window security comes up just click cancel.
To save a copy of the document, click enable editing and click file then save as.

Completed applications should be sent to:

    •; enclosing any other relevant attachments
      (e.g. financial accounts, letters of support), or
    • Julie Parsons, Creative Communities Scheme, Rotorua Lakes Council, Private Bag 3029, Rotorua 3046​

Creative Com​munities NZ Rotorua Scheme applicant guidelines are available in the following languages:

Creative Communities Rotorua Assessment Committee

The committee membership term is three years with the possibility of serving a second 3yr term. As members are not elected in the same year, the committee always retains some experience.

The current committee is made up of community representatives: Harry Chhagan, Jo-Anne La Grouw and Karisma Vala with Council representative Trevor Maxwell and Te Tatau o Te Arawa representative Kahutapeka Ututaonga completing the committee.

We would like to see two more community representatives (including a youth representative) on this committee. More details about the committee are here. If you are interested in serving on this committee please contact Julie Parsons, Creative Communities Lead at or phone 07 351 7823. 

Nomination forms for Creative Communities Rotorua Assessment Committee

Information about the Creative ​Communities Scheme is available at the Creative NZ website.

Page reviewed: 20 Aug 2020 1:14pm